Perth Grammar

Perth Grammar School



Celebrating Success - PE

Pupil success in the Perth and Kinross Swimming Gala

Gold in the S3/4 Boys 50m Freestyle Jay Doherty

Silver in the S3/4 Girls Breaststroke and freestyle Haylie Todd

Bronze in the S5/6  50m Freestyle Bethany Downham

Gold in the S5/6 50m Freestyle Ryan Cummins

Silver in the S5/6 Girls 4x50m Freestyle relay: Lauryn McLaughlan, Bethany Downham, Ailsa Gourlay & Rachel Davis


As very successful sports afternoon was held on Friday 2nd June.  Winners are list below.

S1 Boys: Zack Smith        1LD2                                     S1 Girls:    Lisa Low           1EN1

              Liam Finnie       1AD3                                                     Katie Duthie      1EN1

              Reece Simpson  1LD1                                                      Sky Steele         1EN1

S2 Boys: Liam Strong       2EN2                                      S2 Girls:   Beth Laing        2EN3 

              Tommy Dow      2AD1                                                      Katie Pasteur    2LD2

               Liam McLuskie  2EN1                                                      Taryn Cummins 2EN3

S3 Boys:  Jack Muirhead  3AD1                                       S3 Girls:  Haylie Todd      3LD3

                Kian Hardy      3LD2                                                      Keira Aitchison  3AD1

                Ben Shepherd  3AD1                                                     Jodie McKenzie  3LD3

                    The House Trophy was won by Lomond with a total of 398 points.




The inaugural ‘School of Basketball Championships’ took place at the National Performance Centre in Edinburgh recently. This was a competition for all school’s that run 'Schools’ of Basketball'. The S1 tournament was on the 29th April with the PGS S1 girls winning the tournament. The S1 boys won 1 out of 3 games. They lost their first game by 3pts and second game by 1pt so were very unfortunate. The S1 girls (pictured left) are now Scottish School’s Champions and Scottish School’s School of Basketball Champions. The S2 tournament was on the 4th May with both S2 Girls and Boys winning the tournament. This means that PGS won 3 out of 4 of the trophies available. This is a fantastic achievement for the young people involved and a great reward for all the effort they have put in through the School of Basketball. They were great ambassadors for the school at both these events. The trophies were handed out by Kieron Achara who is the Captain of the GB men’s basketball team and he played in the Olympics in London in 2012. He was very impressed with our young people and how hard they worked. Click here to see more photos.


Perth Schools Senior Boys hockey team (a combination of PGS, PHS and PA players) won the Scottish Aspire Cup on Friday 17th March at the Glasgow Commonwealth Hockey Centre beating Beaconhurst 3-0. The score could have been much higher with the Perth team having all of the possession and pressure throughout the game (the Perth keeper didn’t have a single save to make). Ryan Cummins (pictured 2nd left) was named as Captain and dominated the game from the back with a superb performance. Angus Roberts (2nd right), Ewan Rawcliffe (left) and Scott Clark (right) were also selected for the squad. They represented the school exceptionally well throughout the competition and have developed into very skilful players (watch out staff in the staff v pupil match this year!) Click here to view a video of highlights and the photo gallery can be viewed here.


Well done to the S1 Girls' Basketball Team who are now Scottish Schools Champions! They played their hearts out on Tuesday 14th March and won the game 39-24.






The Cross Country team were a credit to the school on Tuesday 14th February 2017 when participating in the Perth and Kinross Schools Cross Country event at Scone Racecourse. They finished 2nd overall out of the 5 “Big Schools”. Special mention should go to Eilidh Davies (S1) and Beth Laing (S2) who both finished 2nd in their races. Well done to all participants.